SHPA offers a number of awards for members who make outstanding contributions to the profession of hospital pharmacy.  These awards recognise excellence and reward dedication and innovation, and we thank the recipients for their contribution to our profession.

Debra Rowett receives 2016 Fred J Boyd Award
Debra Rowett receiving prestigious Fred J Boyd Award from SHPA President Prof. Michael Dooley

Fred J Boyd Award
The Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award
Medal of Merit

Fred J Boyd Award

Established in 1978, this award is the most prestigious recognition given by SHPA, and is in memory of Fred J Boyd, the Founding President of The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. Initially awarded every second year, from 2014 it will be awarded annually. This award is given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to hospital pharmacy in Australia. The recipient is invited to present an occasional address during SHPA’s Medicines Management Conference.

The following extract is taken from the Federal Council meeting which established the inaugural award: "Whereas it was Fred J Boyd, whose vision, perseverance and dedication embodied the fundamental principles of hospital pharmacy, and whereas, Fred J Boyd practised his profession and exhibited his leadership and inspirational abilities in the State of Victoria, as well as the whole of Australia as the foundation President of SHPA it was therefore resolved that the Federal Council of SHPA create an award to be known as the Fred J Boyd Award given in the form of a plaque under the auspices of the Federal Council and it was further resolved that the Fred J Boyd Award be presented at the time of the Biennial Federal Conference of SHPA, or as determined by the Federal Council of SHPA."

2016 Fred J Boyd Award
The recipient of the 2016 Fred J Boyd award is Debra Rowett

Previous recipients of the Fred J Boyd Award

2015 Sue Kirsa
2014 Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO
2013 Yvonne Allinson
2011 Bill Thomson
2009 Kingsley Coulthard
2007 Susan Alexander
2005 Margaret Duguid
2003 Mary Hemming
2001 John Low
1999 Ian Brand
1997 Frank May    
1995 Pam Nieman
1993 Virginia Richardson
1991 Arthur N Jones
1989 Aino Mackie
1987 Stanley W Hayes
1985 Percival L Jeffs
1983 Neil Naismith
1981 W G Mercer
1979 Barry Miller

The Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award

2016 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award winner Debbie Rigby

The Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award may be awarded by Federal Council annually to a member of SHPA in recognition of outstanding contributions in the area of clinical pharmacy practice. The award shall be in the form of an inscribed plaque and a stipend of $2500. 

2016 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award
The recipient of the 2016 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award is Debbie Rigby

Previous recipients of The Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award

2015 Christine Carrington
2013 Sasha Bennett
2012 Jason Roberts
2011 Greg Roberts
2010 Garth Birdsey
2009 Susan Welch
2008 George Taylor
2007 Neil Cottrell
2006 Kirstie Galbraith
2005 Simone Taylor
2004 Michael Dooley
2003 Ian Coombes
2002 Debra Rowett
2001 Jeffery Hughes
2000 Dave Cosh
1999 Kingsley Coulthard
1998 Chris Alderman
1997 Chris Doecke

SHPA Medal of Merit

From 2014, the SHPA Medal of Merit, formerly known as the GlaxoSmithKline Medal of Merit, may be awarded by Federal Council annually to a member of SHPA, in recognition of an outstanding recent contribution and exemplary effort involving a particular activity or activities relating to hospital pharmacy practice. The emphasis of the award is on encouragement rather than recognition of overall career achievement.

SHPA Branch Committees will be invited to nominate a suitable recipient.

The SHPA Medal of Merit shall be presented at SHPA's Medicines Management Conference. The recipient will be invited to deliver an oration which will subsequently be published in Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research.

Previously known as the GlaxoSmithKline Medal of Merit, this was an annual award available to a member of SHPA who had made an outstanding recent contribution or contributions to the practice of hospital pharmacy or the professional development of pharmacy in the preceding three years. 

First awarded in 1962 as the Evans Medal of Merit to SHPA's founding president Fred J Boyd, it was awarded 46 times as the Evans MedalKate Richardson receives SHPA Medal of Merit 2016 of Merit, Allen and Hanbury Medal of Merit, Glaxo Medal of Merit, Glaxo Wellcome Medal of Merit and finally the GlaxoSmithKline Medal of Merit, which was presented for the final time in 2013.

2016 SHPA Medal of Merit
The recipient of the 2016 SHPA Medal of Merit is Kate Richardson

Previous recipients of the Medal of Merit

2015 Kirstie Galbraith
2013 David Kong
2012 Rohan Elliott
2011 Bhavini Patel
2010 Ian Coombes
2009 Naomi Burgess
2008 Jo-anne Brien
2007 Rosemary Burke
2006 Karen Kaye
2005 Helen Dowling
2004 Danielle Stowasser
2003 Michael Dooley
2002 Penny Thornton
2001 Graeme Vernon
2000 Karen Allen
1999 Jenny Johnstone
1998 Jeff Hughes
1997 Susan Tett
1996 David Cosh
1995 Kay Hynes
1994 Roberta Lauchlan
1993 Christopher Alderman
1992 John Low
1991 Ian Larmour
1990 Pam Nieman
1989 Michael J Ryan
1988 Richard Plumridge
1987 Frank May
1986 Mary Hemming
1984 Sr. Marie Therese Rosenberg
1983 Arthur Jones
1982 Byron Guthrie
1981 William Thomson
1980 Barrie Miller
1979 Frank Ryan
1978 John Dickson
1977 Michael Wyer
1976 Melvyn Davis
1975 Neil W. Naismith
1971 John Wrench
1970 Barrie Miller
1969 Edward Phelan
1967 Mavis Sweeney
1964 Stanley Hayes MBE
1964 P. Lance Jeffs
1963 Charles Macgibbon
1962 Fred J Boyd JP


Back to Top