Board of Directors

SHPA is governed by a Board of Directors which is supported by branches, committees of specialty practice and other reference and advisory groups. All councillors are volunteers and are elected by the membership.

Board Executive
Board of Directors
Board Sub-committees

Contact the Board

Board Executive

Professor Michael Dooley (President) is the Director of Pharmacy at Alfred Health and Professor of Clinical Pharmacy at the Centre for Medicine Use and Safety at Monash University. He is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Preventative Medicine at Monash University. Michael’s career has focused on the acute healthcare sector and has spanned special clinical roles in oncology through to senior leadership positions within health services and contribution to many national and local professional committees and working parties related to improving the delivery of quality healthcare in Australia. Michael has been actively involved in a range of research activities from practice-based undergraduate projects through to competitively funded National Health and Medical Research Council and Australian Research Council collaborative initiatives and postgraduate programs.

Trudy Teasdale (Vice President) is the Assistant Director of Pharmacy at Gold Coast Health and supporting Board Director for the National Pharmacy Technician Network and Chair of the Technician Role Redesign Project Steering Committee.

Peter Fowler (Treasurer) is the Manager of Clinical Pharmacy at Launceston General Hospital in Tasmania and Senior Lecturer in Therapeutics at The University of Tasmania.

Board of Directors

David Brennan is an experienced investment banking executive and company Director across financial, resources and healthcare sectors. With degrees in Business Law and Finance, David has a wealth of contemporary leadership experience as well as an entrepreneurial commitment to social causes: David was the founding Chairman of the Dry July Foundation, the Australian Corporate Ambassador to UNICEF and an advisory board member at the ATO representing the not-for-profit sector.

David Butt has 18 years’ experience as CEO and many more as an executive across the health system, in policy, planning, purchasing and providing services, at national, state and regional levels. Organisations to have benefited from David’s leadership have often been diverse, complex and geographically dispersed. Based in Canberra, David has been Deputy Secretary of the Australian Department of Health and CEO of the National Mental Health Commission, Little Company of Mary Health Care (the Calvary group), Australian General Practice Network, ACT Department of Health and Community Care, and the National Rural Health Alliance.

Lindsay Cane brings experience as a seasoned CEO and Director to SHPA, having led national and state health agencies, sporting organisations, not-for-profit and private sector businesses. Lindsay is currently CEO of the Royal Far West, which provides specialist medical care and allied health support services for children in remote NSW, a member of the NSW Ministerial Advisory Committee for Rural Health, and non-Executive Director of the Confederation of Australian Sport and Australian Masters Games, having also led Netball Australia and a private communications consultancy.

Deirdre Criddle is Complex Care Coordinator/Pharmacist at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Western Australia. One of the first pharmacists in Australia to be credentialed as an Advanced Practice Pharmacist, Deirdre brings expertise in medication management across care transitions to the role, which is embedded within an interdisciplinary Complex Needs Coordination Team (CoNeCT). Deirdre is also current Chair of SHPA Primary Care and Transitions of Care Leadership Committee. In 2012, Deirdre was awarded the Pharmaceutical Society of Western Australia’s Eric Kirk award and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s Australian Pharmacist of the Year award. In 2013, she received Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy’s Consultant Pharmacist of the Year honour.

Emily Diprose is a Lead Pharmacist at Calvary Public Hospital Bruce in the ACT. As part of the pharmacy management team, Emily plays a lead role managing the department’s operations including human resources, maintaining and improving service efficiency and delivery, as well as the introduction of new services. Emily also oversees the hospital’s Antimicrobial Stewardship (AMS) Program and is actively engaged in the hospital’s AMS and Infection Control and Staff Health Committees.  A trained SHPA ClinCAT evaluator, Emily has a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment and is involved in various hospital training and education programs. 

Dr Jacinta Johnson is Senior Medication Safety Pharmacist within the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network, and she coordinates Pharmacy Practice courses in her role Lecturing in Pharmacy at the University of South Australia. Jacinta brings experience in clinical education, in primary healthcare working in with Drug and Alcohol Services, and in community pharmacy. Jacinta is passionate about supporting early career pharmacists to experience rewarding careers that have a meaningful impact upon community health, and her contributions have been recognised through the SHPA PL Jeffs Early Career Pharmacist Award (2017) and the PSA Early Career Pharmacist of the Year award (2018).

Dr Lisa Pont is Associate Professor (Pharmacy), Discipline of Pharmacy at the Graduate School of Health, University of Technology Sydney (UTS) in New South Wales. Lisa is a registered pharmacist and, prior to joining academic pharmacy, was the Senior Clinical Pharmacist at Central Coast health where she coordinated Clinical Pharmacy across four hospitals north of Sydney. Lisa is an SHPA Fellow and has been a SHPA Board member since 2016. With a strong interest in building research capacity among hospital and clinical pharmacists, Lisa chairs the SHPA National Translational Research Collaborative (NTRC).

Board Sub-committees

Finance and Audit Committee

Peter Fowler (Chair, Treasurer), Trudy Teasdale, David Brennan 

Risk Committee

Deirdre Criddle (Chair), Michael Dooley, Lisa Pont, David Brennan, David Butt

Nominations Committee

Michael Dooley (Chair, President), Lisa Pont, Emily Diprose, Peter Fowler

Contact the Board


T: 03 9486 0177 (International 61 3 9486 0177)

F: 03 9486 0311 (International 61 3 9486 0311)

PO Box 1774, Collingwood Victoria 3066 Australia

Suite 3, 65 Oxford Street, Collingwood Victoria 3066 Australia