Committees & networks

 

Rural hospital pharmacy

SHPA has a range of committees and networks among our membership which work in areas related to therapeutic or practice areas of pharmacy specialty or to provide additional support or recognition of activities in evolving areas of pharmacy.

Leadership and Management Reference Group
Rural and Regional Advisory Group
National Pharmacy Technician Network
More about Branches
Committees of Specialty Practice (COSPs)

Whilst members are welcome to contact a committee or network chair directly, non-members are encouraged to first contact the SHPA Secretariat about any area of interest.

Leadership and Management Reference Group

Chair: Bhavini Patel 
Margie Butnoris
Prof. Michael Dooley
Daniel Gilbertson
Colin Hui
Assoc. Prof. Sue Kirsa
Terry Maunsell
Kristin Michaels
Steve Morris
Amber Polles
Michael Ryan
David Walters
John Woodward


National Pharmacy Technician Network

The National Pharmacy Technician Network (NPTN) was established to provide a unified and nationally consistent approach to the issues facing pharmacy assistants and technicians in both a professional and educational context.

 
National Pharmacy Technician Network Members

Chair: Lorah Hickman
Alfred Pharmacy, Vic.
E: L.Hickman@alfred.org.au

ACT representative: Bryan Walker
Canberra Hospital and Health Services
E: Bryan.Walker@act.gov.au

NSW representative: Melanie Anderson
John Hunter Hospital
E: Melanie.Anderson@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au

Qld representative: Phillipa (Pippa) Burchnall
Gold Coast Health
E: Phillipa.Burchnall@health.qld.gov.au

SA/NT representative: Judy Manning
Royal Adelaide Hospital
Tas. representative: Vacant

WA representative: Paula Caird
Fremantle Hospital Pharmacy
E: Paula.Caird@health.wa.gov.au

Convenor: Trudy Teasdale
Gold Coast Health
E: trudy.teasdale@hotmail.com

The NPTN has a public Facebook group, SHPA Technician Network Discussion Group, which is open to members and non-members.

The SHPA CPD website has a range of resources for technicians such as:

  • A technician specific discussion forum.
  • Various Technician specific CE on demand webinars.
  • A wide range of other CE on demand webinars.
  • 16 tutorials under principles for the use of medicines for Australian Pharmacy Technicians

The SHPA eCPD website has a range of resources for technicians such as:

  • A technician specific discussion forum.
  • Various Technician specific CE on demand webinars.
  • A wide range of other CE on demand webinars.
  • 16 tutorials under principles for the use of medicines for Australian Pharmacy Technicians 

Rural and Regional Advisory Group

The Rural and Regional Advisory Group has representatives from states and territories listed below. The network meets by audio-teleconference four times a year, and addresses issues of importance to our rural members.

The Chair of the committee is also SHPA's Rural Adviser to the Federal Council.

If you have any ideas about how this group can support you as a rural member or issues you would like them to address, please contact SHPA Member Liaison Suzanne Newman.

New South Wales: Ian Mawbey, Anna Barwick

Northern Territory: Kara Milne, Ange Young

Queensland: Michelle Rothwell (Chair), Kim Novak

South Australia: Jennifer Pink, Tasma Wagner

Tasmania: Kelly Beswick

Victoria: Chris Turner, Jaclyn Baker

Western Australia: Frank Andinach, Meeghan Clay


More about Branches


Committees of Specialty Practice (COSPs)

The COSPs meet as required to progress a range of projects, mainly in the areas of standards development and education. The maintenance of practice standards is integral to the achievement of the SHPA vision. Each COSP includes a Convenor who ensures the COSPs work is connected to the Federal Council.

Cancer Services
Chair: John Coutsouvelis, Vic
E: j.coutsouvelis@alfred.org.au
Convenor: Prof. Michael Dooley

Cardiology
Chair: Tina Ha, Qld
E: Tina.Ha@health.qld.gov.au
Convenor: Dr Sasha Bennett

Clinical Pharmacy
Chair: Sally Marotti, SA
E: sally.marotti@health.sa.gov.au
Convenor: Peter Fowler

Critical Care
Chair: Karlee Johnston, ACT
E:  karlee.johnston@act.gov.au
Convenor: Emily Diprose

Educational Visiting
Chair: Debra Rowett, SA
E: debra.rowett@rgh.sa.gov.au  
Convenor: Deirdre Criddle

Electronic Medication Management Systems
Chair: Maryanne Molenaar, Vic.
E: maryanne.molenaar@easternhealth.org.au
W: Electronic medication management systems online discussion forum
Convenor: Peter Fowler

Emergency Medicine
Chair: Susie Welch, NSW
E: susan.welch@svha.org.au  
Go to the Sharing Resources page for links to useful resources provided by the Emergency Medicine COSP.
W: Emergency Medicine online discussion forum
Convenor: Assoc. Prof. Ian Coombes

Geriatric Medicine
Chair: Dr Rohan Elliott, Vic.
E: Rohan.Elliott@austin.org.au
Convenor: Trudy Teasdale

Infectious Diseases
Chair: Dr David Kong, Vic.
E: david.kong@monash.edu
Convenor: Prof. Michael Dooley

Investigational Drugs
Chair: Carol Rice, Vic.
E: Carol.Rice@petermac.org  
Convenor: Dr Lisa Pont

Manufacturing Services
Chair: Michelle Fall, WA
E: Michelle.Fall@sjog.org.au
W: Manufacturing online discussion forum
Convenor: TBA

Medication Safety
Chair: Rosemary Burke, NSW
E: rosemary.burke@sswahs.nsw.gov.au
Covenor: Trudy Teasdale

Medicines Information
Chair: Elizabeth Anderson, NSW
E: Elizabeth.anderson2@health.nsw.gov.au
Convenor: Emily Diprose

Mental Health Pharmacy
Chair: Christine Culhane, Vic.
E: christine.culhane@florey.edu.au
Convenor: Dierdre Criddle

Paediatric Pharmacy
Chair: Sean Turner, SA
E: sean.turner@health.sa.gov.au
Convenor: Assoc. Prof. Ian Coombes

Palliative Care
Co-chair: Bel Morris, SA
E: Belinda.Morris@health.sa.gov.au

Co-chair: Sandy Scholes, Vic.
E: Scholes2@bigpond.net.au
W: Palliative care online discussion forum
Convenor: Trudy Teasdale

Pharmacist Liaison Services
Chair: Sue Driscoll, NSW
E: shpa@shpa.org.au
W: Accredited pharmacists online discussion forum
Convenor: Dr Sasha Bennett

Back to Top