Leading pharmacist Dr Manya Angley recognised at ConPharm

Recognising her outstanding medication safety advocacy for people living with disabilities, Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) Fellow Dr Manya Angley AdvPracPharm was announced the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy (AACP) MIMS Consultant Pharmacist of the Year at ConPharm, held in Adelaide last weekend.

First presented in 2008, this annual award recognises and celebrates the outstanding contribution by a consultant pharmacist who is making a difference to patients’ lives through the practice of consultant pharmacy.

Dr Angley, who was an inaugural member of the SHPA Transitions of Care and Primary Care Leadership Committee, and is Director, Manya Angley Research & Consulting, has long been passionate about reducing potential harms associated with transitions of care, identified by the World Health Organization’s Patient Safety Challenge Medication Without Harm as notably high-risk, and a key priority in the global strategy to reduce preventable medication-related harm.

In September 2020 Dr Angley provided powerful testimony to the Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability on the role of pharmacists in providing care to people living with an intellectual disability, describing three de-identified Home Medicines Review (HMR) and Residential Medication Management Review (RMMR) reports in her witness statement. Dr Angley also advocated for greater empowerment of pharmacists to report improper use of chemical restraint.

‘It was a privilege to provide a testimonial at the Disability Royal Commission in September and highlight the opportunities for pharmacists to upskill and play a greater role in providing better health care to people with disability, especially intellectual disability,’ Dr Angley shared with SHPA at the time.

Additionally, Dr Angley has provided expert input into SHPA’s Hospital-initiated medication reviews (HIMR): Hospital pharmacy practice update, and represented SHPA on the Program Advisory Group of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s Medication Management Programs Project to update Residential Medication Management Review and HMR Guidelines in their Guidelines for comprehensive medication management reviews.

SHPA Chief Executive Kristin Michaels says Dr Angley has been a tireless advocate for patient-centred, team-based care.

‘On behalf of SHPA members and our Board, I congratulate Manya on the progress she’s led in reducing harm to some of the most vulnerable patients in our healthcare system. It is wonderful to see her important work recognised and celebrated across the broader pharmacy profession.’

Previous SHPA members to receive this award over the past decade are Natalie Soulsby (SA), 2017; Jenny Gowan (Vic), 2016; Joy Gailer (SA), 2015 and Deidre Criddle (WA), 2013.

Image courtesy of the Australian Deprescribing Network.

Download the media release.