‘Never be satisfied with the status quo’: Steve Morris receives prestigious 2019 Fred J Boyd Award

Acknowledging his tremendous achievement in improving patient care in South Australia, Steve Morris was this morning announced as the recipient of the prestigious 2019 SHPA Fred J Boyd Award at Medicines Management 2019, the 45th Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) National Conference on the Gold Coast.

In his entertaining acceptance oration, Mr Morris (pictured, left) called moving to Australia 10 years ago from his native England ‘the best decision I ever made’ and brought the packed room to a hush recalling his first experience of a medication safety error.

‘What I remember now is not how I felt then, but what the patient said to me: “Please make sure this doesn’t happen to someone else”.

‘This still drives me today, and it should drive all of us. How can we grow and lead and change the system to be different, to make sure it doesn’t happen again?’

Mr Morris, who is Chief Executive of NPS MedicineWise and was previously Chief Pharmacist of SA Health, summed up his years of experience with four points of advice for the packed plenary hall.

‘Always ask the “why” question, never be satisfied with the status quo, seek your own route to professional happiness and always leave the jersey in a better place when you move on.’

In awarding the prize on behalf of SHPA, President Peter Fowler (pictured, right) celebrated the impact of Mr Morris’ strategic vision, inspirational leadership and his ability to effect service improvement for the betterment of patient care.

‘Steve was integral in establishing SA Pharmacy, which, under his leadership, has seen South Australians benefit from reforms that have addressed inequity in South Australia’s pharmacy services across country health, mental health, and across metropolitan hospitals.

‘He demonstrates absolute commitment to developing pharmacy services that ensure the best possible care for patients in South Australia and, through his national roles, around the country.

‘Steve’s commitment to education has seen the implementation of a preceptor support program in partnership with the University of South Australia. But further – as all his colleagues will know – his door is always open.

‘He is always there to support and offer mentorship on both professional and personal levels.’

‘I also today acknowledge Rosemary Burke, Associate Professor Michael Barras and Professor Jeff Hughes as very worthy nominees for the 2019 award.’

Download the media release.