SHPA President Peter Fowler recognised with lifetime achievement award

Recognising years of dedication to advancing the impact of Australian pharmacy on patient care, Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) President Peter Fowler was last night announced as the 2019 recipient of the Tasmanian Pharmacist Lifetime Achievement Award.

SHPA Chief Executive Kristin Michaels says the prestigious award befits Mr Fowler’s position leading Australia’s hospital pharmacists and technicians at a transformative time for the profession.

‘First and foremost, Peter is a bridge-builder. His passion for improving patient care is far bigger than one role and, on behalf of SHPA’s 5,000-strong membership, I congratulate him for his ongoing commitment to ensuring every hospital pharmacist and pharmacy technician is empowered with the expertise and opportunity to make a real difference to people’s lives.

‘Having overseen the release of the SHPA Strategic Plan 2019-23 and the signing of an historic MoU with the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) this year, Peter has a bold vision for Australian pharmacy that is firmly centred on the patient.’

Elected President of SHPA in 2018, Mr Fowler is a former Treasurer and Chair of the Workforce Transformation Committee and currently practices as specialist Critical Care Pharmacist in the Launceston General Hospital Intensive Care Unit.

SHPA Tasmanian Branch Chair Michelle Paine says Mr Fowler’s commitment to the profession is evident in his focus on future pharmacy leaders.

‘Over many years, Peter has been dedicated to supporting the next generation of pharmacists through outstanding work in education and tutoring, as well as mentoring Intensive Care Pharmacists in the hospital setting.

‘His leadership of hospital pharmacists in Tasmania, and across Australia has supported excellence and the continued evolution of the role pharmacists play in supporting safe and quality medicine use in hospitals.’

Mr Fowler says he welcomes the collaborative spirit of the evening.

‘As in many areas, Tasmania truly punches above its weight in health care, and pharmacy is no exception.

‘It was an honour to receive this recognition alongside Fredrik Hellqvist (Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year) and Dana McLennan (Early Career Pharmacist Award), and beside partners and collaborators from hospital and community pharmacy.

‘As we have for decades, SHPA will continue to throw its weight behind programs that educate, upskill and develop hospital pharmacists and technicians to become more capable, effective and influential in their practice and in their care.

‘I look forward to harnessing the energy of our members, while working with our strategic partners, to advance the profession as whole.’

Download the media release.