Residency Program


Residency Programs

SHPA’s Residency Program, implemented in 2017, is the first and only structured, formalised, supported and accredited national pharmacy residency program in Australia.

This two-year professional development program:

  • provides practice based experiential training  
  • is targeted at early career pharmacists, or pharmacists entering hospital pharmacy practice after working in other pharmacy practice environments
  • offers a diverse program curriculum ensuring residents gain the skills and knowledge to achieve a cohort of competent general level pharmacists.
  • is an important step that leads to other professional development pathways, such as advanced practice recognition.

SHPA residency supports pharmacist practitioner development towards competence and performance aligned with Stage 1 (Transition Level) of the Australian Advanced Pharmacy Practice Framework. 

The importance of foundation training infrastructures is emphasised in Goal 2 of the International Pharmaceutical Federation’s (FIP) ‘Pharmaceutical Workforce Development Goals’.

Accredited Programs
Resident of the Year Award
Standards, resources and tools
Want to know more?

Accredited Programs

Applications for the 2018 round of hospital pharmacy accreditation for the SHPA Residency Program are now closed. Outcomes have now been confirmed. 

In total, 37 residency programs are now provisionally accredited by SHPA including those accredited in the first (end-2016) and second (end-2017) accreditation rounds. A list of sites is available here

Programs currently holding provisional accreditation (awarded end-2016) will be subject to a site visit by SHPA surveyors by mid-2018 in expectation of achieving full accreditation. Programs holding provisional accreditation (awarded end-2017) will be subject to a site visit by SHPA surveyors by early-2019. 

Previous SHPA Residency Program media releases: 

SHPA's media release announcing Round 2 accreditation outcomes (new programs beginning in 2018) on 14 December 2017 is available here.
SHPA's media release announcing the opening of 2018 Residency Program site accreditation applications is available here.
SHPA's media release announcing the SHPA Residency Symposium on 29 August 2017 is available here
SHPA’s media release announcing accreditation outcomes on 1 December 2017 is available here.
SHPA’s media release announcing accreditation outcomes on 2 November 2017 is available here.

Resident of the Year Award

The Resident of the Year Award is annually bestowed on a resident undertaking SHPA’s Residency Program who has demonstrated excellence in practice and professional improvement. The award is supported by MIMS. 

The 2017 Resident of the Year Award was presented to Amanda Horiniak from Alfred Health at MM2017, the 43rd SHPA National Conference. Sarah Marsh, from Tamworth Rural Referral Hospital was also recognised with a Highly Commended Resident Award.

Read more about the Resident of the Year award here.
Read more about Amanda Horiniak in our  'A minute with...' member series.

SHPA and MIMS continue to support the profession in recognising excellence in pharmacy practice. 

Standards, resources and tools 

Want to know more?

Frequently asked questions

Residency Project: Andrew Matthews, General Manager, Workforce Transformation 
E: T: 0408 650 153

Residency Program Project Steering Committee

•    Supporting SHPA Councillor and Chair: Peter Fowler (Tas.) 
•    Two members of the SHPA Education Reference Group: Dan Guidone (Vic.); Cathy Martin (NSW)
•    Director/chief pharmacist of a hospital pharmacy department: Dr Ian Coombes (Qld)
•    Pharmacist with experience in training, education, preceptorship and/or professional development: Cameron Phillips (UK*)
•    Resident (early career pharmacist): Natalie Maher (SA)
•    Pharmacist with expertise in ambulatory clinical services: Dr Chris Freeman (Qld)
•    Non-pharmacist health professional (Clinical Pharmacologist and General Physician): Prof Arduino Mangoni (SA)
•    NAPSA Representative: Vasilios Sotiropoulos

* Currently undertaking a 12-month fellowship as a visiting researcher in the UK

Project manager: Andrew Matthews

Back to Top