Board of Directors

SHPA is governed by a Board comprising seven elected directors and three appointed directors, supported by seven state and territory branches, Specialty Practice streams and other reference and advisory groups.

Board Executive

Tom Simpson

Tom Simpson is the Executive Director, Statewide Hospital Pharmacy Tasmania, and has held positions as Chair, Statewide Pharmacy Executive Committee, the Tasmanian Minister’s Health Council and the Pharmacy Board of Tasmania. Tom is a member of the SHPA Leadership and Management Specialty Practice Leadership Committee and holds a conjoint position as Senior Clinical Lecturer with the University of Tasmania School of Pharmacy. Tom was awarded 2018 Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year and the 2019 SHPA Medal of Merit, recognising outstanding contribution to pharmacy practice locally and nationally.

Dr Kate O’Hara

Dr Kate O’Hara is the Deputy Service Manager – Clinical at the John Hunter Hospital, Newcastle and the Cannabis Advisory Pharmacist for NSW Health. A Specialist Women’s and Children’s Pharmacist Kate was elected to the SHPA Women’s and Newborns Health Leadership Committee in 2017, to the SHPA Board of Directors in 2019 and the SHPA Vice-Presidency in 2022. An ACT Health Quality Award recipient (2018) with a passion for clinical pharmacy and education, Dr O’Hara works across a range of areas with pharmacists and technicians to develop clinical pharmacy services, and is SHPA’s national spokesperson for Residencies and pharmacy research.

Ramy Aziz

Ramy Aziz is an experienced non-executive director and senior executive with significant financial and governance experience. He has served as a director and chair of finance, audit and risk committees on ‘for-purpose’ organisations in the healthcare, education and finance sectors.  Ramy brings finance, treasury, governance, strategy and general business acumen skills to the board and is Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Audit and Risk Management Committee of SHPA. Ramy’s prior executive career was primarily within the finance sector and included senior management and executive director roles with listed and private entities. Most recently, Ramy was a former Chief Financial Officer of ASX Ltd.


Paul Firman

Paul Firman is the Assistant Director of Pharmacy (Cancer Care Services) at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (RBWH) and the former Chair of the SHPA Queensland Branch (2018-21). A member of the SHPA General Medicine Leadership Committee, Paul has held a variety of pharmacist positions across practice settings and is dedicated to a thorough understanding of the profession and the important roles that practitioners have in the delivery of patient care.


Board of Directors

Lindsay Cane

Lindsay Cane brings experience as a seasoned CEO and Director to SHPA, having led national and state health agencies, sporting organisations, not-for-profit and private sector businesses. Lindsay is currently CEO of the Royal Far West, which provides specialist medical care and allied health support services for children in remote NSW, a member of the NSW Ministerial Advisory Committee for Rural Health, and non-Executive Director of the Confederation of Australian Sport and Australian Masters Games, having also led Netball Australia and a private communications consultancy.

Dr Jacinta Johnson

Dr Jacinta Johnson is Lecturer in Pharmacy, University of South Australia and Senior Pharmacist – Research, SA Pharmacy. Jacinta brings experience in clinical education, in primary healthcare working in with Drug and Alcohol Services, and in community pharmacy. Jacinta is passionate about supporting early career pharmacists to experience rewarding careers that have a meaningful impact upon community health, and her contributions have been recognised through the SHPA PL Jeffs Early Career Pharmacist Award (2017), the PSA Early Career Pharmacist of the Year award (2018) and the SHPA Early Career Pharmacist of the Year award (2019).

Brenda Shum

Brenda Shum is the Acting Head of Department – Pharmacy at Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group. She holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons), majoring in Pharmacology; Bachelor of Pharmacy; and Master of Business Administration (Health Management). She has worked in multiple clinical and operational areas in a tertiary setting, with more than a decade in senior management roles. A member of the SHPA Leadership and Management Leadership Committee, her professional interests include bridging the transition of care between hospital and community settings; and expanding the scope of pharmacy practice to optimise patient outcomes.


Board Sub-committees

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

Ramy Aziz (Chair), Brenda Shum, Dr Kate O’Hara, Tom Simpson.

Nominations Committee

Tom Simpson (Chair), Paul Firman, Lindsay Cane, Dr Jacinta Johnson.

Contact the Board


PO Box 1774, Collingwood Victoria 3066 Australia