Sally Marotti receives 2021 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award

Sally Marotti receives 2021 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award

Sally Marotti was announced today as the 2021 recipient of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA)’s Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award, recognising her inspiring and influential leadership within the pharmacy profession, and her lifelong dedication to fostering excellence in pharmacy practice through education initiatives and pioneering research.

Ms Marotti FSHP, who is the lead pharmacist for experiential learning, training and research for SA Pharmacy, was also commended for the enormity of her contribution to SHPA’s activities over the years as SHPA Education and Education Visiting Chair, and Chair of the former Clinical Committee of Specialty Practice, long-standing clinical tutor for SHPA’s seminar series as well as serving on both the NSW and SA/NT Branch Committees.

In their recommendation, SHPA Board member Dr Jacinta Johnson, Associate Professor Michael Barras and Professor Debra Rowett commended Ms Marotti’s enthusiasm, dedication, and drive to improve clinical pharmacy practice for the benefit of others.

‘Sally’s selflessness and generosity with her time make her a clear standout from the field. She works tirelessly to achieve the ambitious goals she sets for herself, her team and the organisations in which she practices, all with the aim of furthering practitioner development, improving clinical services and ultimately health outcomes for our communities.

Ms Marotti has led the development of many state-wide educational initiatives in South Australia and New South Wales, stewarding the talent pipeline by facilitating Hospital Pharmacy placements for pharmacy students, establishing Hunter New England Hospital’s first intern training program and South Australia’s state-wide intern program, while developing and delivering education workshops and lectures for students and pharmacists across the state.

Ms Marotti has been instrumental in leading significant change processes in South Australia, including implementing Entrustable Professional Activities for pharmacy assistants, pharmacy students, interns and pharmacists across SA Health.

‘While at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Ms Marotti implemented new clinical services (including unit-based clinical services) and led a pilot of the SHPA ClinCAT® as part of its validation service,’ continues the commendation. ‘She also designed and implemented the first medication history taking form at the John Hunter Hospital, while her Masters work developing a heparin normogram and chart which contributed to improving heparin administration state-wide.

‘Further, Ms Marotti helped advance the pharmacy profession on an international scale with regard to prescribing medicines. She held national leadership roles within the National Prescribing Service as a member of the NPS Choosing Wisely Advisory and Pharmacy Review Groups, and in 2008 she co-founded the Australian Pharmacist prescribing group. Ms Marotti also published the first randomised clinical trial of pharmacist prescribing in Australia.’

Ms Marotti will formally accept the 2021 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award and deliver her oration at Medicines Management 2022, the 46th SHPA National Conference this November.